Level I - Mastering The Fundamentals

The Level I Program, Mastering The Fundamentals Of Chinese Tea Arts, guides students through the sophisticated art of Chinese tea, and builds the necessary foundation to becoming a genuine Tea Master.

The Level I courses offer a comprehensive understanding of the flavour characteristics, cultivation issues, and processing methods of all tea categories. Students will also learn the proper function and aesthetics of Chinese tea rituals, and gain an appreciation for the rich history and culture of tea arts.

In addition to academic knowledge, each course provides hands-on training and tea tasting. Together, the courses help students appreciate Chinese tea as a fine art, and promote the understanding about tea quality.

Mastering The Fundamentals Of Chinese Tea Arts is comprised of 6 components:

  • #111. Tea Classification & Processing I (Green, White, Yellow, and Red Tea)
  • #112. Tea Classification & Processing II (Wulong Tea, Black Tea)
  • #131. The Art of Chinese Tea Rituals I (Gaiwan/ Gaibei)
  • #132. The Art of Chinese Tea Rituals II (Traditional Chinese Teapots)
  • #150. Professional Tea Tasting
  • #160. Understanding Chinese Tea Culture

Mastering The Fundamentals Of Chinese Tea Arts prepares candidates for the Certified Tea Master Exam (CTM), which is the first level of accreditation towards the Master of Tea Arts (MTA) qualification.

Tea enthusiasts are welcome to enroll in all Level I courses, and may also select individual courses to suit specific needs and interests.

To register for courses simply contact us.


Certified Tea Master (CTM) Exam

The Certified Tea Master exam is designed to qualify individuals with the knowledge, skills and demeanor that are necessary to becoming a “Certified Tea Master” (CTM). The Certified Tea Master title represents the primary accreditation for solid expertise in Chinese tea arts.

The Certified Tea Master Exam is comprised of three components:

  • Written exam
  • Blind Tasting exam
  • Performance exam – requires the candidate to accurately perform traditional Chinese tea rituals to properly prepare 2 unspecified teas that will be provided.

A minimum pass of 70% in all sections is required. Upon the successful completion of the exam, candidates will earn the Certified Tea Master (CTM) certificate issued by the Institute of Masters of Tea Arts.

Students must take the Certified Tea Master Exam before applying for the Premier Tea Master Certification Exam:

Individuals with a strong background in tea may challenge the CTM exam by completing only the requisite Chinese Tea Rituals & Tasting Courses in the Mastering The Fundamentals Of Chinese Tea Arts Program (Courses 131, 132, & 150).

Students who desire to take the Certified Exam must sit the exam within 2 years of completing the requisite courses.

Comments are closed.