Level II - Premier Tea Masters Program

The Premier Program develops the depth and breadth of expertise for students to become Premier Tea Masters.

A primary objective of the Premier Program is to strengthen the students ability to distinguish levels of quality in both tea and tea ware. Students will also learn advanced brewing techniques and tea rituals to optimize flavour profiles and experience a further dimension of tea arts.

The courses broaden the student’s understanding of each tea category, and builds upon the tasting and performance skills developed through the Level I Program.

The Premier Program is comprised of 10 components:

  • #221. Zisha Teapots I
  • #222. Zisha Teapots II
  • #231. Traditional Chaozhou Style Gongfu Tea Rituals
  • #250. Green Tea & White Tea
  • #251. Red Tea
  • #252. Wuyi & Anxi Wulongs
  • #253. Guangdong & Taiwan Wulongs
  • #254. Black Tea & Pu’er Tea I
  • #255. Pu’er Tea II
  • #260. Tea Culture & History

Upon completion of the program courses, candidates may continue their study of the techniques and principles provided in the program to prepare for the Premier Tea Master (PTM) Certification Exam.


Premier Tea Master Certification Exam

The Premier Tea Master (PTM) Certification Exam identifies individuals who are proficient in optimizing the flavour profiles of tea through traditional Chinese tea rituals, and who can accurately evaluate tea quality according to IMTA standards. Candidates must come to the Premier exam with extensive preparation to successfully pass this challenging exam.

In addition to advanced skills and technique, candidates are expected to reach a broad degree of knowledge in order to qualify as a Premier Tea Master (PTM). Candidates will be examined on detailed knowledge, such as the varietals of Anxi wulong, the composition of zisha, and the cicadas of Hsinchu. This level of detailed knowledge of Chinese tea is necessary to earn the title of Premier Tea Master.

The Premier Exam consists of three components:

  • Written exam
  • Blind Tasting exam
  • Performance exam – requires the candidate to demonstrate proficiency in traditional Chinese tea rituals

Candidates must achieve a minimum pass of 70% in all sections to earn the title of Premier Tea Master (PTM).

Individuals may challenge the Premier Exam without completing the Premier Program courses, however they must have passed the Level I Certified Tea Master Exam.

Candidates must pass the Premier Tea Master Certification Exam before they apply for the Master of Tea Arts Diploma Program.

Comments are closed.